Comments Off on Tennessee is the 16th state to join the Union

Tennessee is the 16th state to join the Union

By @ 06/01/11 in June

tennesseeJune 1st, 1796

The name Tennessee derives from an early Cherokee village called “Tanasi,” as early Europeans had a relationship with the natives who inhabited the state before the Revolution.  Tribes such as the Chickasaw left indelible impressions on Tennesee, but were removed by the 19th century.  Soon, English and American settlers began forming their own governments in Tennessee, realizing they weren’t under British authority.  As a district of North Carolina, Tennessee supported the Colonies during the Revolutionary War.  They initially petitioned to become a state named Franklin, but instead the Continental Congress made the region a federal territory called Territory South of the River Ohio.  Finally, Tennessee became the 16th State in 1796.  Two of the most important figures Tennessee produced were presidents and war heroes Andrew Jackson and James K. Polk, who both left a lasting impression on American foreign policy and economy before the Civil War.  Deep in the heart of the South, Tennessee’s borders stretch from the Appalachian Mountains in the east to the Mississippi River in the west.  Cities like Memphis and Nashville are legendary for their role in blues and country music, hosting the likes of Elvis Presley, Jerry Lee Louis, Johnny Cash, Muddy Waters, and Dolly Parton.

Another famous Tennessean was Davy Crocket, who was a frontiersman.  What do you think the term frontiersman means?